I can’t wait to meet you.

I’ll be the (female) one crying my eyes out.  You’ll be the one that’s brand new to the planet.   I don’t think we’ll be able to miss each other.

It seems so crazy that this ride is almost over.  I never thought we’d make it this far baby.  It’s been exactly 8 months today since I did that little chemistry experiment that changed my life.  And now, you will be here in just a few short days.  I am trying to savor every second of it all.  Trying to be still and spend time with my little carry-on.  I want to remember what it feels like to have you roll around in there.  To feel your feet kicking me  and your sweet little bum pushing up under my ribs.  I want to remember the crazy way it feels to me when you have hiccups.  I want to remember this time when it was just me and you, always together, best buds.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m going to miss having you all to myself.   What am I going to do when all of these people want to hold you?  That’s been MY job, my most important task, for so much of this year and now I’m just supposed to give it up so easily?  To pass you off to others?  No one will be able to hold you as well as I can baby, of that I’m sure.  I was made to do it.  I was born to hold you, whether inside or outside.

Don’t worry though, I will share.  If there’s one thing I’m looking forward to more than seeing your sweet face, it’s introducing you to your Poppa.  We’ve had a good ride baby, but it’s time to share you with the world.

Leave a Reply

