Just me and you, kid.

These days little baby you are wreaking havoc on my life.  For the past week I have not been able to sleep past 5:00 am.  No matter what time I go to sleep, whether it be midnight or 3:00, I am up before 5:00.  I think we’re both expanding, because the reason that I am waking up from a dead sleep is to eat!  Every morning, without fail, I get a hunger pang so intense that I have to get up immediately and shovel food in my face.  It ain’t pretty, baby.  (Neither was that butchering of the English language, please don’t ever do it). After I eat, you start squirming around in there, and I am officially awake for the day.  No more sleep for Momma.

Instead of focusing on how dead tired I am these days from this new development, I have started to appreciate the time I have in the early mornings to myself.  I’ve seen more sunrises in the past week than I have in the past year.  Sunrises are beautiful, baby, I can’t wait for you to see them.  If you’re anything like your Poppa and I, they will be a rarity for you as well.  But every once in a while, when you’re grown, set the alarm for earlier than you want to and arise before the sun.  You won’t be disappointed.

Not only do I have time for sunrises and quiet, I have time with you.  I can’t help but think about how in just a few weeks  my whole world will change.  Likely  I will still be sitting on the couch in the early mornings, but it will be with my son or my daughter (whoa), and not my little inside stowaway.   For now though, let’s enjoy these last few days together, where we sit in the quiet and Momma sings to her belly.

I can’t wait to meet you little wee one and to see how beautiful you are.   Sunrises will forever pale in comparison.

Leave a Reply

