The best day

I wanted to say something really beautiful and eloquent about today, and about how I felt 7 years ago today, but I can’t find the words.   They just aren’t enough.  It was the happiest day of my life, and that about it sums it up.  I loved every second, from waking up with my best girlfriends in a cramped hotel room, to falling asleep next to my husband (!) on our way to Mexico.   And though I loved it all, every last drop, there are a few things that jump to the forefront of my mind when I think about our wedding day.

In no particular order:

  • Walking down the aisle with all 3 of my dads.
  • Seeing The Mr. cry as I came down the aisle.  We had arranged to have local musicians playing the intro music, and it was one of the things we were most looking forward to.  When I asked him  later how he liked hearing Canon in D live, he said that he “couldn’t hear a thing” because he was looking at me.
  • Our brothers playing a song for us during the ceremony.
  • Reading my vows.
  • The Mr.’s song he wrote for me, and the fact that he had my brother give me a copy of the words so I could be sure to hear and understand them all.
  • Walking back down the aisle as husband and wife, to Van Morrison’s Brown Eyed Girl.  Just a few people knew about it, so everyone started laughing and clapping.
  • Our cake.  Yes, it made the list.

Finally, I loved the song that played right before I walked down the aisle.    Our day had finally come.

“A page is turned in this life, he’s making her his wife
And there is no secret to the source of this much life.
Grace that falls like rain, is washing them again,
Just a chance to somehow rise above this land.

Where the God of second chances,
Will pick them up and He’ll let them dance through a world that is not kind.
And all this time, they’re sharing with the One,
Who holds them up when they come undone.

Beneath the storm, beneath the sun.
And once again, here you stand,
Your day has come.”

2 responses to “The best day

  1. I remember this song and I remember when I saw you standing there ready to walk down the isle and I motion for the people to stand I think they were all in a state of Grace as you and Robert were.

    I remember getting the phone call and the argument that your step Dad and I were having lost all meaning and energy. my baby girl was getting married but she didn’t know yet. She says I gave it away she maybe right I don’t think I could hide my joy though I didn’t say a word.

    I remember that my soon to be son-in-law had asked Jarrod for Rachel’s hand. He asked the right man.

    Rachel Star you were the most beautiful bride I had or have ever seen. But baby your more beautiful now and the son-in-law has become my son. I Thank God for the plan He Had for the two of you. I am blessed to me your Mom.

  2. No way I’m going to top your mom’s comment, (not that I want to), but I just wanted to say my parents just celebrated their 40th and I hope you celebrate your 80th at least. 🙂 It was a wonderful day for all of us.

Leave a Reply

